Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar


The Lamp of Learning Academic Awards Program was implemented by the Board of Education in the Fall of 1985 to honor and reward those students who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in the classroom. Awards are earned based on the work of the entire school year and are given out in the Fall of the following academic year (i.e., an award earned in the 8th grade is given out in the fall of the 9th grade, etc.)
Students earn pins at the 6th, 7th, and 8th grade levels by maintaining a cumulative GPA of at least 3.5 for the entire school year.



Awards earned in grades 9 -12 are not earned by grade level but rather, in a four-step process. Therefore, a student must earn each award in order regardless of his/her current grade level.


Step 1 Award = Academic Letter Step 3 Award = Silver Pin
Step 2 Award = Bronze Pin Step 4 Award = Gold Pin

Freshmen receive a pin (Middle Level) based on earning a 3.5 GPA in 8th grade.

Sophomores receive an Academic Letter based on earning a 3.5 GPA as a freshman.

Juniors may receive an Academic Letter or Bronze Pin, based on earning a 3.5 GPA during their sophomore year; or by maintaining a 3.5 cumulative GPA for freshman and sophomore years combined.

Seniors (Fall Awards) may receive an Academic Letter, Bronze Pin or Silver Pin, based on earning a 3.5 GPA during junior year; or, by maintaining a 3.5 cumulative GPA for freshman, sophomore and junior years combined.

Seniors (Spring Awards) may receive an Academic Letter, Bronze Pin, Silver Pin or Gold Pin, based on earning a 3.5 GPA through the third term of their senior year; or by maintaining a 3.5 cumulative GPA for freshman, sophomore, junior and 3rd term of senior years combined.

Sponsor information


2017-2018 Sponsors

Friend - $10.00 Donation

Lori Harris


Sponsor - $25.00 Donation

Carolyn Adler

The Cannon Family

Jeffrey and Karyn Faber

Richard Kast

Kirk Kaufman

Gwen Kluesner

The Kolp Family

Patty Matekunas

Dave and Amy McCaffrey

Ivy Marie Mitchell

Shirley M. Nelson

Brenda Pescia

Rob and Karen Schadel

Robert and Rose Tyson


Patron - $50.00 Donation

Kate Barker’s Family

Chicago Brothers Pizza

The Butki Family

Dr. and Mrs. William Craig Crafton

Christopher Dolecki D.C.

GB Training Center

Maria and John Horvath

KALPA Systems, Inc.

The Kettler Family

Dr. Joseph A. Mastromatteo, Georgetown Dentistry

Matt and Amy Morrison

Sally Papazian Shepherd

Ruth Peng

Sagebrush Cantina

Ron and Ann Smolinski

Rena Thomas


Benefactor - $100.00 Donation

James and Carol Bartunek

Abacus Accounting Services, Inc.

James and Carol Bartunek

Mr. and Mrs. Phil Dehn

Mat and Diane Dunaskiss

Hi Hill Lawn Service

Nick Horvath, State Farm

Knights of Columbus, Fr. Thomas R. Carey Council

Bob Lomerson

Gary and Rene Maki

Modetz Funeral Home & Cremation Service

Oakview Middle School PTO

Oxford Bank

The Rowland Family

SOS Mechanical and Son, Inc.

David and Barbara Wilker


Lamplighter - $200.00 Donation

Dan and Jan Seeds

Village Trophy Shop, Inc.


Lamplighter Plus - $250.00 Donation

Chris Barnett, Orion Township Supervisor

BASS Building Automated Systems and Services

Golling Buick GMC

Lake Orion Education Association

The Nowakowski Family


Bronze Lamplighter - $500.00 Donation

Michael Cayen, M3 Investment Services

Mike Macy, Macy Insurance Agency - Meemic

Orion Neighborhood Television


Gold Lamplighter - $1,000.00 Donation

Steven Drakos, Attorney at Law

Lake Orion Sunrise Rotary Club


Donations in Memory of Alice Seppanen

Former administrator at Waldon and
Oakveiw Middle Schools

Colleen Barkham

Ronald Bentley

Michael and Connie Boyle

Robert and Gretchen Breese

Dianna Carter

Susan Carter and Family

Don and Dawn Easley

Larry and Rebecca Hahn

Candace Harris

Larry and Jo Hornbeck

Sarah Hunter-Bruder

Larson Middle School Staff

Robert and Pat Matuszak

Mike and Jane Niday

Roger Peterson

Phyllis Relyea

Ilona Rosehart

Tom and Cathie Sherwood

Jim and Denise Skiba

Paul Tomasko

George and Annette Weiland